Batch load of Products table (Import)

A place to discuss and receive support for the Web Auction application.

Batch load of Products table (Import)

Postby Karonthe » Thu Oct 23, 2008 2:56 am

Hello,

I'm a newbie to webauction, just starting to analyze it for customization.

The problem indeed may be due to my approach and don't know if I'm trying to use a hammer for something that is not intended for.

My periodic auctions (quarterly, maybe) would be opening and closing at specific dates/times, so the products (about 1000) would be all available for bidding or none at all. I'd also need the ability to send mass-mail to the winning bidders, one for each of them, listing all the stuff they have won. But this will be a further problem.

My first need is to populate the Products table in a batch way, maybe importing records from an Excel sheet or a plain text file. I can prepare such file as needed.

I think the "Import" feature would be the right way, but it seems to be locally customized. I've read How to write an import filter but don't know how to specify/send/transfer/write the product images. What should I do? Where should I write the import method (delegate classes)?

I'd appreciate your help. Thanks in advance.
Karonthe

Postby shannah » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:21 am

My periodic auctions (quarterly, maybe) would be opening and closing at specific dates/times, so the products (about 1000) would be all available for bidding or none at all.

You can set the opening/closing dates in the auction settings. These would be the default opening and closing dates for all products that you add. You are also able to batch updates if you need to set the date for all products at once, using the "Update Set" command (admin only).

I'd also need the ability to send mass-mail to the winning bidders, one for each of them, listing all the stuff they have won. But this will be a further problem.